IPCop-Forum.de

www.ipcop-forum.de


IPCop-Community
CL-Systems
Home Home   Doku Doku   Links Links   Downloads Downloads
UnIPCop Der (Un)IPCop   IFS IPCop-ForumSpy
CopTime CopTime   Galerie IPCop-Galerie   IPCop Userkarte Userkarte
Aktuelle Zeit: 23.06.2018, 23:13

Alle Zeiten sind UTC+02:00




Ein neues Thema erstellen  Auf das Thema antworten  [ 5 Beiträge ] 
Autor Nachricht
 Betreff des Beitrags: Help Connect a Printer
BeitragVerfasst: 19.02.2016, 16:06 
Offline
Rookie
Themenstarter
Rookie

Registriert: 19.02.2016
Beiträge: 3
Hi.. I am a noobie in ipcop and i want your help.. i need to configure ipcop so as pc1,pc2,pc3,pc4 in green interface to communicate with the printer wich is connected to the pc as shown in the picture.. Do i have to add a specific rule or something else?
thanks

Bild


Nach oben
   
 Betreff des Beitrags: Re: Help Connect a Printer
BeitragVerfasst: 19.02.2016, 20:57 
Offline
Chief Superintendent
Chief Superintendent

Registriert: 05.06.2009
Beiträge: 603
Wohnort: Nordlicht im Ländle
Hi apog,

welcome to the forum!

I think that your question is not specific to IPCop, it is a situation relevant for whatever firewall you use. But first some other points.

The box between IPCop and your PC1, PC2, ... : is that really a router!? Probably it is a switch! (If your PCs obtain an IP address of the GREEN IPCop network i.e. 192.168.2.x/255.255.255.0), then it is a switch, not a router.

Actually your IPCop is a router which is setup with some predefined rules. For the GREEN network all traffic to the RED network is allowed by default, but not vice versam (default as well). This default rule set can be tweaked by custom rules.

This means that access to your printer 192.168.1.xx should be possible from the GREEN network by default.

Regards, zargano


Nach oben
   
 Betreff des Beitrags: Re: Help Connect a Printer
BeitragVerfasst: 19.02.2016, 23:01 
Offline
Rookie
Themenstarter
Rookie

Registriert: 19.02.2016
Beiträge: 3
zargano hat geschrieben:
Hi apog,

welcome to the forum!

I think that your question is not specific to IPCop, it is a situation relevant for whatever firewall you use. But first some other points.

The box between IPCop and your PC1, PC2, ... : is that really a router!? Probably it is a switch! (If your PCs obtain an IP address of the GREEN IPCop network i.e. 192.168.2.x/255.255.255.0), then it is a switch, not a router.

Actually your IPCop is a router which is setup with some predefined rules. For the GREEN network all traffic to the RED network is allowed by default, but not vice versam (default as well). This default rule set can be tweaked by custom rules.

This means that access to your printer 192.168.1.xx should be possible from the GREEN network by default.

Regards, zargano


Thanks for your reply... Sorry for my mistake, i meant switch and not router...
But from red interface, i have only internet, cant 'see' any pc connected to modem-router with ip 192.168.1.xx
Why?


Nach oben
   
 Betreff des Beitrags: Re: Help Connect a Printer
BeitragVerfasst: 22.02.2016, 17:40 
Offline
IPCop-Entwickler, Site-Moderator, IPCop-Supporter 2006, 2007, 2008 und 2009
IPCop-Entwickler, Site-Moderator, IPCop-Supporter 2006, 2007, 2008 und 2009
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 26.06.2005
Beiträge: 19149
Wohnort: LDK | Hessen
Your printer (or any other device in the 192.168.1.0/24 network) will not know which route to take when answering.

Either set the printers default gateway to IPCop red IP address or add iptables MASQUERADE rules to /etc/rc.d/rc.event.local as described here: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=29127

_________________
/* Gruß weizen_42 */

Bild
| IPCop Doku | IPCop Galerie | IPCop Uptime | Ärger vermeiden |


Nach oben
   
 Betreff des Beitrags: Re: Help Connect a Printer
BeitragVerfasst: 23.02.2016, 21:15 
Offline
Rookie
Themenstarter
Rookie

Registriert: 19.02.2016
Beiträge: 3
ok.. lest's say that the ip of the pc which the printer is connected is 192.168.1.19
strange think is that if i run \\192.168.1.19 from windows start menu then i can see the shared folders and the printer which i want to connect to.. But cant connect to pc by using its hostname...
Any ideas?


Nach oben
   
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:  Sortiere nach  
Ein neues Thema erstellen  Auf das Thema antworten  [ 5 Beiträge ] 

Alle Zeiten sind UTC+02:00


Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast


Du darfst keine neuen Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst keine Antworten zu Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht ändern.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.

Suche nach:
Gehe zu Forum:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
Deutsche Übersetzung durch phpBB.de